The big step

When i think about the past, i can understand the present and may as well predict the future. Our childhood experiences have a profound impact on our later lives. more importantly they shape our attitudes and values. Right education for every one is necessary not only because it helps them get jobs, but because proper education inculcates the right attitudes and values in children which shape their lives from there on. For this reason, I feel that literature and humanities subjects are as, if not more, important as science and mathematics subjects for a child.

I have a practical experience of lessons taught in the classroom effecting my major decisions in life. The ancient wisdom embedded in sweet poetry of Vemana and Sumati Sathakam in the Telugu literature text book taught me the values of hard work, perseverance, honesty etc. Stories of personalities like Swami Vivekananda, Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Henry David Thoreau had great impact on my frame of reference through which i experience the world. But when I think about the biggest decision of my life(till now) and the inspiration behind it, I have to thank the great American poet Robert Frost for that. His poem The Road Not Taken was part of our English subject when I was entering my teens and was thinking about profound questions like the purpose of life, what i wanted to be when i grow up etc. In that poem, Frost describes a situation when life offered him two choices or roads as Frost describes them. He could travel on only one path(obviously), he stands at the divergent and looks down both the roads and eventually chooses to take the one less traveled by.

The last stanza of the poem:

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Like for many others, these lines help me stay courageous during decisive movements. For me, these lines taught the wisdom in thinking differently and looking about for novel ideas and gave courage to travel on roads less traveled by. And that has made all the difference.

The decision:

After completing my graduation and post graduation, I worked for about an year for a corporate who manufactures electronic products. But I could not find any satisfaction or meaning in what i was doing. I was then at the junction of the road, but for me there were many choices/roads to take. Each road had unique challenges and opportunities. But one road attracted me the most. It was dark without any clear sign posts, very less people traveled on that road before and I did not know any one of them. But I was fascinated by the destination which the road was leading to and I was clear that any kind of hardship for it would be worth while. Frost’s poem helped me take this ‘different’ road. That road was my decision to prepare for civil services examination. And my journey is coming to an end shortly. I hope to reach my desired destination soon, even if it does not happen there are no regrets as I followed my heart and enjoyed travelling on this road every single day!

P.S: Housing.com is an Indian startup company helping people take their ‘big step’ of owning an house. I find their enthusiasm engaging, hope they succeed in helping millions of Indians achieve their dream of owning a house of their dreams.

Leave a Reply

